Shubman Gill, the opener for the Indian cricket team, was recently penalized 15% of his match fee for publicly questioning the TV umpire’s call during the WTC 2023 final matchup against Australia.
Gill was punished by the International Cricket Council for breaching Article 2.7, which prohibits the use of insensitive remarks in public about situations that occur during international matches.
On the fourth day of the Test match, Gill edged an Australian bowler Scott Boland’s delivery to the third slip, where Cameron Green made a diving catch. Gill did not quickly leave, though, showing his displeasure with the choice.
In following the new practice, the on-field umpires chose to refer the catch to Richard Kettleborough, the third umpire, without utilizing a soft signal. Gill wasn’t happy and Rohit Sharma, his opening partner and captain, expressed shock after Kettleborough, after considering various factors, ruled Gill out.
Gill expressed his disappointment with the decision on social media, where he posted a zoomed front-on image of Green making the catch. Gill added emojis for a magnifying glass and a facepalm alongside the image. He also shared an Instagram story using clapping hands emojis. Due to all of this, the ICC charged Gill with breaching Article 2.7 and imposed a fine equal to 15% of his match fee.
ICC penalized India for maintaining a low over-rate throughout WTC 2023 Final
The Indian cricket team has been punished for maintaining a low over-rate throughout the WTC final in addition to Gill’s penalty. India was penalized the whole sum of their match fee by the International Cricket Council for falling five overs short of their target.
Australia has also been penalized for playing with four fewer overs, losing 80% of their match money. For each over an opponent fails to bowl within the allowed time, a 20 percent match fee penalty will be imposed, per Article 2.22 in the ICC Code of Conduct for both Players and Player Support Staff.
India suffered a disappointing loss in the WTC final to Australia, which won by a score of 209 runs. Rohit Sharma, the captain, expressed his displeasure with the process of decision-making that resulted in Gill’s dismissal after the game.
In order for the third umpire to make sensible decisions, Rohit highlighted the need for additional replays and clearer information. However, Pat Cummins, the captain of Australia, supported the umpire’s decision and referred to Richard Kettleborough as the finest umpire in the world.
The Indian cricket team’s effort in the WTC final was tainted by this incident and the teams poor over-rate, which resulted in significant fines and sparked concerns about the need for improved equipment and decision-making procedures in high-profile cricket competitions.